A year.

A year can change a lot of things.

I changed my hair.

I changed my friends.

I changed how I thought about you.

I changed.

It’s been a year since you’ve been in my life.

A year since you crippled me, sending me into a spiral of self hate and delusion.

One year ago, I told you I loved you and you whispered it to another. 

Today, a year later, I sit with five strangers staring at the ocean on the Sunny Coast. I’m smiling, and the smile is real. I don’t ache anymore. I don’t think about you constantly. I still miss you at times but I remind myself you were a fallacy, a liar. What you presented to me wasn’t real. You were a lie and I was the believer.

A year changed a lot of things. 

Leave a Reply

